Most Read

Top stories

What Characters Can You Play as in 'Dissidia Final Fantasy NT'

Beginning in 1987, the Final Fantasy series has entranced gamers with its expansive plots, robust cast of characters, and unique take on the fantasy genre. Square and Square Enix’s signature series has grown to include upwards of 70 different titles. Among the vast library of Final Fantasy titles, which span standard role-playing games to mobile ventures, is the Dissidia series, an action-RPG fighting game featuring notable characters from the main series.

The first Dissidia launched in 2008 on the PlayStation Portable and has spawned three follow-ups, including the most recent release on Jan. 30, 2018 – Dissidia Final Fantasy NT. The first of the Dissidia games to be released on a home console, Dissidia Final Fantasy NT is a port of the Japanese arcade game Dissidia Final Fantasy, which launched in November 2015.

Taking place after the prior titles, a roster of more than 28 characters spanning most games in the main series will square off in an arena-style battleground. Developed in partnership with Team Ninja, Square Enix’s Dissidia Final Fantasy NT is slated to feature a more complete roster of up to 50 characters, most of which will be available post-release as updates roll out.

Source: Square Enix

The current roster of 28 includes memorable characters like Cloud Strife from Final Fantasy VII, Squall Leonhart from Final Fantasy VIII, Cecil Harvey from Final Fantasy IV, and the Onion Knight from Final Fantasy III. Other playable characters include:

  • Sephiroth (Final Fantasy VII)
  • Cloud of Darkness (Final Fantasy III)
  • Firion (Final Fantasy II)
  • Garland (Final Fantasy)
  • Warrior of Light (Final Fantasy)
  • Noctis Lucis Caelum (Final Fantasy XV)
  • Lightning (Final Fantasy XIII)
  • Jecht (Final Fantasy X)
  • Tidus (Final Fantasy X)
  • Kuja (Final Fantasy IX)
  • Zidane Tribal (Final Fantasy IX)
  • Kain Highwind (Final Fantasy IV)
  • Y’Shtola (Final Fantasy XIV Online)
  • Shantotto (Final Fantasy XI)
  • Ultimecia (Final Fantasy VIII)
  • Kefka Palazzo (Final Fantasy VI)
  • Terra Branford (Final Fantasy VI)
  • Golbez (Final Fantasy IV)
  • The Emperor (Final Fantasy II)
  • Ace (Final Fantasy Type-0 HD)
  • Vaan (Final Fantasy XII)
  • Exdeath (Final Fantasy V)
  • Bartz Klauser (Final Fantasy V)
  • Ramza Beoulve (Final Fantasy Tactics)

Supporting the large cast of characters are seven summons: Ifrit, Shiva, Ramuh, Odin, Leviathan, Alexander and Bahamut. Though the complete list of additional fighters to be added post-launch hasn’t been officially revealed, earlier in January, Square Enix teased a release of six new characters as part of Dissidia’s season pass.

The reveal, which was streamed from Square Enix’s YouTube Channel on Jan. 10, provided hints as to the six new characters. According to Square Enix, there will be four male characters, all of whom are new to the Dissidia series. Three of them will be from the “newer half of numbered Final Fantasy titles” while the last one will be from the older series. Filling in the remaining two slots are two female characters, one carried over from a prior Dissidia title. Both female characters will be from newer Final Fantasy games.

Though it’s incredibly vague, chances are the newer characters will pull from the most recent Final Fantasy XV, Final Fantasy XIII, and possibly even Final Fantasy XIV, as all three are underrepresented in the current roster.

The season pass can be purchased with Dissidia for $84.99. This Day One Edition will also come with the “Nameless Warrior Day One DLC.”