Which Pitchers Have Won Multiple Cy Young Awards?

WASHINGTON, DC - OCTOBER 12: Max Scherzer delivers a pitch against the Chicago Cubs (Win McNamee/Getty Images)

MLB Network revealed the 2017 Cy Young Award-winners on Wednesday. This year, Corey Kluber of the Cleveland Indians and Max Scherzer took home the hardware for the AL and NL, respectively. The feat is impressive enough in and of itself, but each of this year's winners have also won the award in a previous season. Kluber took home his first Cy Young in 2014, while Scherzer won the AL Cy Young in 2013 and the NL Cy Young in 2016. With the addition of Kluber, there are now 19 legendary players who have won the award in multiple seasons. So which pitchers have won multiple Cy Young Awards? Here's the full list:

Pitchers With Multiple Cy Young Awards

Roger Clemens (7): 1986-87, 1991, 1997-98, 2001, 2004

Randy Johnson (5): 1994, 1999-2002

Steve Carlton (4): 1972, 1977, 1980, 1982

Greg Maddux (4): 1992-95

Sandy Koufax (3): 1963, 1965-66

Pedro Martinez (3): 1997, 1999-2000

Jim Palmer (3): 1973, 1975, 1976

Tom Seaver (3): 1969, 1973, 1975

Clayton Kershaw (3): 2011, 2013-2014

Max Scherzer (3): 2013, 2016-2017

Bob Gibson (2): 1968, 1970

Tom Glavine (2): 1991, 1998

Roy Halladay (2): 2003, 2010

Tim Lincecum (2): 2008-09

Denny McLain (2): 1968-69

Gaylord Perry (2): 1972, 1978

Bret Saberhagen (2): 1985, 1989

Johan Santana (2): 2004, 2006

Corey Kluber (2): 2014, 2017

Some Other Fun Facts About This Group...

  • As you can see, Scherzer now joins a truly elite list of pitchers who have won at least three Cy Young Awards. Scherzer is the tenth player to accomplish

    LOS ANGELES, CA - NOVEMBER 01: Clayton Kershaw throws a pitch during the fourth inning against the Houston Astros (Kevork Djansezian/Getty Images)

    this feat, joining fellow 2017 Cy Young finalist Kershaw.

  • Only six pitchers have managed to win the award in both the American League and the National League. That list is comprised of Clemens, Johnson, Martinez, Perry, Halladay and Scherzer.
  • Until 1967, only one Cy Young Award was given out to the best pitcher in all of Major League Baseball. Koufax was the only pitcher to win the award multiple times during that period.
  • Maddux and Johnson hold the record for most consecutive Cy Young Awards; each pitcher won four in a row at one point in his respective career.
  • Scherzer becomes just the ninth pitcher to win a Cy Young Award in consecutive years. Pitchers have accomplished this feat a total of ten times, as Clemens took home consecutive awards twice during his lengthy career.

Congratulations to Kluber and Scherzer on their victories, and for their place in history!

Mandel Ngan/AFP via Getty Images

The United States, unlike North Korea and other nations President Donald Trump admires, does not have an official state media channel where the federal government can push propaganda.

But since his 2016 campaign, Trump has spoken as though he does have an official state media in Fox News.

Keep reading...
Leon Neal/Getty Images

Retired General John Kelly served as President Donald Trump's Chief of Staff until late 2018, and now he's siding against Trump on a crucial point.

Former National Security Advisor John Bolton's allegations in his upcoming memoir have rocked the impeachment trial in the Senate. Bolton claims Trump sought to withhold aid from Ukraine until it acquiesced to performing politically beneficial investigations for Trump's reelection bid.

Keep reading...

As calls continue to grow for former National Security Advisor John Bolton to testify before the Senate in President Donald Trump's impeachment trial, Trump's personal lawyer Rudy Giuliani is feeling left out.

Demands for Bolton's testimony skyrocketed among the public after allegations in his upcoming memoir that Trump sought to withhold Ukrainian aid as late as September to secure foreign investigations into Trump's political rivals.

Keep reading...
Fox News

Explosive allegations from an upcoming memoir by former National Security Advisor John Bolton are strengthening the case for additional witnesses at the Senate impeachment trial of President Donald Trump.

According to Bolton's manuscript, the President sought as recently as September to withhold $391 million in congressionally approved aid to Ukraine until its President announced investigations into his political rival, former Vice President Joe Biden.

Keep reading...
Scott Olson/Getty Images // Drew Angerer/Getty Images

The defense team in President Donald Trump's impeachment trial spent its second day of arguments defending Rudy Giuliani, bashing House Democrats, and ignoring bombshell developments regarding former National Security Advisor John Bolton that broke in the days before.

The team went after a familiar target in a performance that was likely for an audience of one: Donald Trump.

Keep reading...

Ken Starr, a conservative pundit and frequent Fox News guest, is best known for his dogged attacks to find impeachable offenses by President Bill Clinton during a multi-year investigation into every aspect of the Clinton family's lives.

In the end, Starr found an extramarital affair which was used to impeach Clinton and that Clinton lied under oath about his personal life.

Keep reading...